Holiday Bake-Off: Need some ideas!

So, JD’s work has a bake-off at their holiday party every year. This is the first year I’m able to attend and enter a dessert. I am going to do a test-run this weekend, but I need some ideas!

As I understand it, the judges tend to look for taste, aesthetics, and creativity.

I’m seriously considering Smitten Kitchen’s Cranberry, Caramel and Almond Tart. It’s got the trifecta: aesthetically pleasing, not overdone, and (hopefully) delicious.

But if that backfires, I need some alternatives. Anyone have any suggestions? I’m not looking for anything too complicated (no candy thermometers please!), but I don’t mind a little elbow grease in exchange for eternal glory.

some holiday inspiration

2 responses to “Holiday Bake-Off: Need some ideas!

  1. Well here’s my “award-winning” Pumpkin Cheesecake Balls recipe:

    Make this cheesecake:
    http://simplyrecipes.com/recipes/pumpkin_cheesecake/

    Except don’t make the crust. Add 1/4 tsp cloves. Use tea towels to squeeze the pumpkin instead of paper towels. Bake it in a coupla pie plates (I used a 9″ pie plate and a 9″ square cake pan, just what I had around.) Chill overnight. Then scoop out approx. teaspoon-sized scoops and roll into balls, put on a cookie sheet and freeze. Coat w/ chocolate (using your double-boiler method), dip in Heath chips, then chill again.

    I ran into trouble w/ the chocolate b/c it started getting thick and gloopy at the end, and I thought it was too thickly coated (though some people said they liked the chocolate ratio) – so since you’re more experienced than me with the chocolate thing maybe you would do candy-coating chocolate instead of melted choc chips.

    Regardless, that’s a pretty good pumpkin cheesecake recipe (and it has bourbon in it! you might want to experiment with more bourbon – I was tempted to, but didn’t) but definitely add the cloves.

  2. Pingback: Crack is Whack | Grape Soda

Leave a Reply

