Crack is Whack

I was a bad blogger and didn’t take any pictures of the process of making my holiday bake-off dessert. And, reader, it has been a journey. I had my heart set on a tart for a while, specifically a cranberry-caramel tart but I had a disastrous trial run where: the tart dough was practically impossible to roll out, and cracked during pre-baking, and then the caramel seized almost beyond repair, and then (of course) the caramel leaked a bunch out of the cracks in the tart dough. It looked a mess, but more than that, I Did. Not. Like. It. The sweet caramel and the tart cranberries, rather than complement each other, just tasted like they didn’t belong. The tart dough was tasty, though. Smitten Kitchen of course.

I am not a patient cook. When something doesn’t work, I am not likely to try and try again to get it right. I DO like to tweak recipes I already like to make them even better. But when something fails, I am generally done. RIP, cranberry almond caramel tart.

Delicious, delicious salted butter caramel sauce

So, back to square one. JD sent me the judging categories for the contest:
* Best Presentation
* Best Use of Chocolate
* Best Store Bought
* Most Creative
* BEST DESSERT
I wanted to do something with chocolate so that I’d have a chance in at least a couple of categories.
I wanted to go with something I had the technique down on, nothing too new.
I wanted to use a Smitten Kitchen recipe because I have the best luck with her recipes.
I decided on this Chocolate Caramel Cheesecake. I’ve made successful cheesecakes in the past, and I’ve been on a real caramel kick after discovering how easy it can be. Also, Teddy Grahams in the crust!

Reader, I am sad to report that a Y-shaped, Grand-Canyon sized crack developed in my cheesecake. It was REALLY bad, so bad that I couldn’t bear to take a photo. I whipped up a batch of SK’s Salted Butter Caramel Sauce to try to cover the canyon, and also up the caramel ante.
We shall see! Party tonight!

One response to “Crack is Whack

  1. Pingback: Caramel Validation. Caramelidation? *groan* | Grape Soda

Leave a Reply

