So long, 2011

I was going to write a year-in-review post a few days ago about 2011. Then I thought about it for a minute and decided against it. Yes, 2011 was the year I got married, and that was wonderful. And I found a great new community of friends online. (Shoutout, #nosybitches!) But generally, 2011 was kind of a bust. Stacked up in the “con” column is a whole lot of illness and some death, a crap economy and 6 fruitless months of job searching, friends moving away and family members having some rotten luck.

I tried to be optimistic, but for me, rationalism always wins. I can’t say “2011 was the year 2 close relatives beat cancer” without saying “2011 was the year 2 close relatives got cancer.” It’s just not how my brain works.

And it seems, from my very unscientific sampling of about 3 friends and a quick glance at my twitter feed the past few days, that my experience is not singular. 2011 was just not a great year. Maybe that pink slime from Ghostbusters 2 is running under the whole world somehow, I don’t know. The upside is that having so many people glad to see 2011 go, there’s a renewed sense of optimism for the future.

So, instead of recapping 2011 in excruciating detail, we are just going to say “Yay, I got married and started my own little baby family!” and look ahead to 2012.

I spent a ridiculous amount of time last night at a party discussing nutrition and digestion with a good friend. (I know, we’re such party animals.) She has a similar plan to eliminate gluten, dairy and sugar in the new year. I floated my theory that the uptick in gluten intolerance/allergies is part of a much larger evolutionary shift. As if the universe knows that the way we have been feeding ourselves, with so much refined grain, is hurting our bodies and the planet in a big way. On a micro level, we talked about the deprivation and judgment that go along with these kinds of changes. It all comes down to: if there is a possibility that making these changes will make me feel healthier, increase my energy, and boost my immunity, how could I not give it a try? I love bread, but I love my body more.

I start the Revive diet tomorrow. I did a big shopping trip to Costco yesterday (woo GIANT bags of quinoa, though disappointed my Costco doesn’t carry almond milk), and am hitting up Trader Joe’s tomorrow for some final supplies. I stopped at the Vitamin Store and spent too much money on the stuff I’ll need for the Revive smoothies (whey protein powder and greens powder) and glutamine to help control the sugar cravings.

I’ve been psyched about this diet for months. So much so that my big worry now is with overdoing it. One of the things that drew me to the diet is the way it gradually eliminates categories from your diet, instead of getting rid of everything all at once. But I am so excited that I want to stop it all NOW. I need to trust the book to get me there, and know that making all the changes at once would not be good for my willpower or my mood.

So, beyond just resolving to do the thing, I resolve here to do it right. To not push myself before I’m ready, to not punish myself if I screw up here or there. To really pay attention to what’s happening with my body and my state of mind. I bought a little blue notebook (Moleskine FTW!) in which I will track what I’m eating, how I’m feeling, and how I’m acting. I also vow to check in with JD regularly, to make sure that any sugar-deprivation mood swings aren’t getting out of hand.

Taylor's Sandwiches and Risotto Balls. I will miss them.

On this last day of non-diet, I am living it up just a bit. Bacon and toast for breakfast, Taylor‘s sandwiches for lunch, and pizza for dinner. With liberal amounts of mini pb cups and the awesome chocolate-covered bacon I got for JD for Christmas thrown in for good measure. (NB: If you want proof that I have a great support system to get me through this, you need look no further than my amazing husband, who got me a 6-pack of gluten free beer for Christmas. There will be a period of about 4 days in between giving up gluten on the diet and eliminating alcohol. But more than that, the gift was his way of saying that he is on board with this plan, and there to support me in becoming a healthier me. Best. Husband. Ever.)

Tomorrow: sugar is the first thing to go! See you then!

Leave a Reply

