Roller Coaster (ooh, ooh, ooh)

Last night I was sitting on the couch, writing checks to get Burpy on some daycare waitlists (YES. Ugh.), and all of a sudden I felt that feeling like when you’re on a roller coaster or driving fast on a hill and your tummy does a flip-flop. Except I definitely wasn’t on a roller coaster or in a car, in fact I hadn’t moved. After some quick googling, I came to the conclusion that I had just felt Burpy move for the first time. Sweet!

The irony, of course, is that the day we found out I was pregnant, I had spent the day at an amusement park and had even gone on a (relatively sedate) roller coaster with my niece, since I had convinced myself that the cramps I was feeling meant I was about to get my period. So I had spent a good chunk of that night googling about the effects of roller coasters on pregnancy*. Full circle!

*It turns out that no one really knows what the effects are, because no doctors want to get a bunch of pregnant women and stick them on a roller coaster. Can’t say I blame them. So all those signs at the amusement park about no pregnant women on the rides are all about protecting themselves against litigation.

Leave a Reply

