On Presidents and Pregnancy.

Despite the whole living-in-DC thing, I try not to get too political in my daily life and on social media. It’s pretty obvious that I’m a solidly blue liberal but I don’t feel the need to proselytize all the time.

But. There’s a lot at stake next Tuesday. For the country, certainly, but also for us personally, since I work at a federal agency that the Republican candidate has declared he will dissolve if elected. So, a message for all my friends and family (especially those living in swing states, I’m looking at you all my Virginia people):

A vote for Mitt Romney is a vote for your poor pregnant daughter/sister/cousin/friend Nicole to be out of a job.

And for Nicole and Josh to have to struggle a lot, personally and financially, right at the time that little Burpy comes into this world. (No, I’m obviously not above this kind of emotional manipulation when this much is at stake.)

Look how sad Burpy is.

NOT TO MENTION the fact that a vote for Romney sets back women’s rights a good 50 years, pretty much erases all the progress we’ve made for equal rights for everyone no matter WHO they love, and will almost certainly raise your taxes and make life miserable for everyone but the wealthiest and corporation-iest in this country.

That’s all I’m going to say. I have VERY strong opinions about abortion rights, equal pay for women, equal rights for the LGBQT community, healthcare, foreign policy, social welfare programs,  and helping the lower and middle classes generally, but if you haven’t already done your research about these things and what each of these candidates plan to do about these issues (REAL research, not just what the media (on both sides) is yelling and lying about), then you have no business voting anyway. I just wanted to remind you that this election has real consequences for the people closest to you, so please think long and hard about what’s important to you before casting your vote. Thanks.

3 responses to “On Presidents and Pregnancy.

  1. Why does a vote for Romney set women back 50 years? I keep hearing this but no one can explain how that will happen, exactly. And the women who worked for him (even the Democrats) don’t seem to agree.

    • Hi JoAnna,
      Thanks for visiting the blog! Unfortunately I don’t have the time to reply as in-depth as I would like to, but there are a few points:
      The most important for me is women’s health. The candidate has gone on record stating he will defund organizations such as Planned Parenthood, which provide essential health services to women such as cancer screenings and family planning. Since you came her from MOBSW I know you understand the importance of decent OBGYN care for ALL women. Access to this kind of care directly impacts women’s quality of life and, ultimately, the economy: http://esciencenews.com/articles/2012/10/04/abortion.rates.plummet.with.free.birth.control
      There is also the danger of Roe v Wade being overturned by a Romney-appointed Supreme Court bench. I can see from your blog that our views may differ on this, and I don’t want to turn this comments section into an abortion debate, so I will simply say that when I phrase it as “set women back 50 years,” that is a big part of what I mean.
      I am sure Romney himself, as an employer and a human, has had a positive impact on the lives of women around him. But I don’t have high hopes that his administration will advance the issues of equal pay for women or women’s health issues at all.
      Again, we may disagree on this, and that’s totally ok. But I wanted to at least quickly address your question.

  2. Was totally enjoying following you until this post. I truly hope you are able to find employment if you job is dissolved. If we continue with Obama, his foreign policy will lead to a very unsafe America for your Burpy and my children as well. The only limitations on women are the ones we place on ourselves. Government does not define me and won’t no matter who is in office. Obviously this is just my opinion. Before you judge me too harshly please know I’m a doula and an LC…I have a heart for women & babies. So I’ve put thought into all the things you’ve mentioned; just came to a different conclusion. Best of luck with the rest of your pregnancy!

Leave a Reply

